Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold  



Nobel Laureates

Nobel prizes in low-temperature physics

Low-temperature physicists and chemists have earned many Nobel prizes. The list below omits P-G De Gennes, a low-temperature physicist who won the prize for liquid crystals and polymers, and Lars Onsager, a chemist who made many contributions to low temperature physics.  Each one has a link to their respective award page on the Nobel Prize Web site.

Johannes Diderik van der Waals

Equation of state of fluids

Nobel Prize Information
Johannes Diderik van der Waals
Heike Kamerlingh Onnes          

Matter at low temperatures
Nobel Prize Information
Heike Kammerlingh Onnes
William Francis Giauque  

Adiabatic demagnetization
Nobel Prize Information
Donald A. Glaser    

The Bubble Chamber
Nobel Prize Information
Lev Davidovich Landau    

Theory of liquid helium
Nobel Prize Information
John Bardeen, Leon Neil Cooper, John Robert Schrieffer     

Theory of superconductivity
Nobel Prize Information
John Bardeen Leo Neil Cooper John Robert Schrieffer
Leo Esaki, Ivar Giaever, Brian David Josephson

Tunneling in superconductors; Super-current through tunnel barriers
Nobel Prize Information
Philip Warren Anderson, Sir Nevill Francis Mott, John Hasbrouck van Vleck        

Electronic structure of magnetic and disordered solids
Nobel Prize Information
Pyotr Leonidovich Kapitsa

Discovery of superfluidity
Nobel Prize Information
Pyotr Leonidovich Kapitsa
Kenneth G Wilson  

Critical phenomena in phase transitions
Nobel Prize Information
Klaus von Klitzing  

Discovery of quantum Hall effect
Nobel Prize Information
J. Georg Bednorz, K. Alex Müller 

High temperature superconductivity
Nobel Prize Information
David M. Lee, Douglas D. Osheroff, Robert C. Richardson    

Superfluid helium 3
Nobel Prize Information
David M. Lee Douglas D. Osheroff

Steven Chu, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, William D. Phillips

Development of methods of trapping and cooling atoms with laser light
Nobel Prize Information

Steven Chu Claude Cohen-Tannoudji William Phillips
Carl Wieman, Eric Cornell, Wolfgang Ketterle       

Bose-Einstein condensation of dilute gases of alkali metals
Nobel Prize Information
C. Wieman E. Cornell W. Ketterlee
Contact Us    Site Map    Privacy Policy    Terms of Use
Thank you to our Underwriters: National Science Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
Credits: 2006 - Design and Development: Devillier Communications and Wood St. Content - Devillier Communcations. All Rights Reserved.