Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold  



Advisory group

Committee Members and their relevant expertise for the television series Absolute Zero.
Core advisors attend committee meetings, and will be responsible for reviewing scripts, rough cuts and proposed narration; and for providing guidance and assuring scientific the scientific accuracy throughout the course of research and production. We expect the number of core advisors will increase.

Russell J. Donnelly, Low-temperature physicist, Professor of Physics and Director of the Cryogenic Helium Turbulence Laboratory, University of Oregon. Principal Investigator and Advisory Committee Chair. He has done research in low-temperature physics for over 50 years and is widely recognized for his contributions, which include historical articles. Peter Gammel is Chief Technology Officer, Agere Systems, Lucent Technologies (formerly Bell laboratories). A research physicist, he brings an industrial perspective, as well as a fresh approach to the storytelling aspects of our series, and the underlying science.
Christopher Gould, Low-temperature physicist, Professor of Physics at the University of Southern California. Gould has been active in the California State Science Fair in various capacities, including Board Chairman, for more than 20 years. He created the Web site of the Fair in 1994 and still maintains it. He is also the editor of the WWW Virtual Library page on science fairs. David Goodstein, Low-temperature physicist, Vice Provost of the California Institute of Technology, Professor of Physics and Applied Physics. He was the primary force in the Annenberg/CPB 52-part series, “The Mechanical Universe”. His expertise includes phases and phase transitions in two and three dimensional matter, superfluidity, science education and scientific ethics.
Lene V. Hau, Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and of Physics, Harvard University. She is also the principal investigator for the Atom Cooling Group of the Rowland Institute for Science. Hau’s most recent work has centered on Bose-Einstein condensates, and exemplifies the cutting edge of research in this burgeoning field. She is perhaps best known for having slowed the speed of light to a crawl. Philip W. Hammer, trained as an experimental physicist and currently Vice President of the Franklin Center of the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia. A Co-Executive Producer of the Web site for the PBS science documentary Transistorized!, he maintains a strong interest and prominent position in the area of enhancing public understanding of science.
Gerald Holton, Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics and Professor of the History of Science, Emeritus at Harvard University. Widely recognized for his contributions to, the history and philosophy of science through his lectures and extensive writings. Shun-ichi Kobayashi, President of RIKEN, a semi-governmental research institute. RIKEN is a complex consisting of about fifty laboratories and supporting facilities, devoted to a broad range of research in the physical, chemical, engineering and biological sciences. He is a low-temperature physicist and Co-Chairman of the 23rd International Conference on low-temperature physics held in Japan in August 2002.
Paul Leiderer, a prominent low-temperature physicist and Professor of Physics at the University of Konstanz, Germany, Leiderer brings technical expertise and a European perspective to our efforts. Walter Massey, theoretical low-temperature physicist, President of Morehouse College in Atlanta. Formerly Director of NSF and of the Argonne National Laboratory, his interests include science and mathematics education, and the role of science in a democratic society.
Leonid Mezhov-Deglin, Low-temperature physicist, Director of the Laboratory of Quantum Crystals of the Institute of Solid State Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences. He provides a Russian viewpoint and personal knowledge of Russian contributions to our field. Cherry Ann Murphy, Low-temperature physicist, Dr. Cherry Murray, the newly appointed Deputy Director for Science & Technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Rudolf de Bruyn Ouboter Low-temperature physicist, Emeritus Professor of Physics in the Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory in Leiden. He is the chief expert on Kamerlingh Onnes and his legacy, a key element of our series. Mikko Paalanen, Low-temperature physicist, Director of the Low-Temperature Laboratory of the Helsinki University of Technology. Probably the world’s largest low-temperature laboratory and locus of the coldest temperatures in the universe.
Sir Brian Pippard, FRS. Emeritus Cavendish Professor of Physics at Cambridge University, U. K. His research interests include low-temperature physics and the history of physics. He is a noted expert on the history of thermodynamics. Robert Richardson, Vice Provost and Professor of Physics at Cornell University, and 1996 Nobel Laureate in low-temperature physics in recognition of his contribution to the discovery of the superfluidity of helium-3. As former chair of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Commission on low-temperature physics, Richardson has been a tireless advocate of educating the public in what physicists do, and the impact it makes on daily living.
Gerald Wheeler, trained as a nuclear physicist, he is Executive Director of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), and brings a direct connection with the science education community. He also brings personal experience of the difficulties scientists encounter in dealing with the world of television, having been involved in the production of more than a hundred programs dealing with science and technology. Spencer Weart, Director, Center for the History of Physics, American Institute of Physics. Weart presides over one of the world’s most wide ranging and diverse collections of historical material on the history of physics. He provided editorial guidance to developers of the Transistorized! Web site, and will be similarly involved in the creation and maintenance of the Absolute Zero PBS Web site.
Contact Us    Site Map    Privacy Policy    Terms of Use
Thank you to our Underwriters: National Science Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
Credits: 2006 - Design and Development: Devillier Communications and Wood St. Content - Devillier Communcations. All Rights Reserved.